Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

Agreement on Cooperation with Mainz University of Applied Sciences, Germany, 2021

University Rectors Susanne Weissman and Ivan Vasilyevich Lobanov signed in 2021 a bilateral cooperation agreement between the University of Applied Sciences of Mainz, Germany and the Plekhanov Russian University of Economics. Under the terms of the Agreement, the universities agreed on scientific and academic cooperation: mobility of students and teachers, research and scientific activities, mutual participation in International Teacher Weeks and international conferences.


The idea of cooperation was proposed to the Faculty of Finance by German partners after the Faculty of Finance was accepted into the Dukenet International Network, which brought together more than 30 private and public institutions in the field of trade and international business. The idea was fully supported by the Dean of the Faculty of Finance Olga Leonidovna Shemetkova and colleagues from the University of Applied Sciences of Mainz, Germany.


Both sides approved the commitment to further strengthen the partnership and expand versatile cooperation. They also stressed that COVID-19 will not be a hindrance, since both institutions are ready to implement both online and offline exchange scenarios.

The Mainz University of Applied Sciences stands in the long tradition of two educational institutions from the Electoral Mainz and the Grand Ducal Darmstadt. On the one hand the craftsman drawing school founded 1841 in Mainz (1933 renamed in State School of Arts and Crafts, 1939 dissolved), whose origin can be seen in the 1757 founded Electoral Academy of Painting and Sculpture. On the other hand, the Grand Ducal State Construction School founded in 1876 in Darmstadt (1933 renamed in the State Building School), in 1936 relocated from Darmstadt to Mainz.

In 1971 the University of Applied Sciences Rhineland-Palatinate was founded. In the year of 1996 the Mainz University of Applied Sciences was re-established as an independent university with three faculties: School of Engineering, School of Design and School of Business.